The Saucermen

Likes Talking Checkins
155 0
About Intergalactic Riff, Boom, Crash Creators...
Description Bio History

Early in 1998, Chris Hayne started to put together a rockabilly combo encompassing talents from several Adelaide outfits of the time. Steve Mitchell, of Satellites fame, on double bass and Dave Bond from the Tomahawks joined Chris to form the Saucermen. They played a few gigs around town but Steve soon left to focus on The Satellites and it’s heavy touring schedule which included a world tour.

Chris soon asked Steve O’Malley, (ex Tomahawks) and Francis Macri ( ex Finger Poppin’ Daddies, Killer Instinct) to join and complete the line up in 1999. The Saucermen’s first gig was supporting The Satellites at the Governor Hindmarsh early 2000.

Very quickly the new lineup created a reputation of hard edged rockabilly with elements of punk, blues and country and were booked in many venues around Adelaide. All members had been players in the Adelaide Punk and Rockabilly scene in SA in the 80s and 90s with reputable and well attended bands. This experience and love of all things roots and retro shone through into their covers of Johnny Burnette, Elvis and Johnny Cash tunes as well as the Meteors, Cramps and David Bowie’s “John, I’m Only Dancing”. The band quickly gained popularity for their original Neo-Rockabilly tunes penned by Chris and Steve O’ which consistently charted in the top 10 of local Independent Music Charts of 3D radio and the Annual 100 + 1 Chart for the year.

The band has played at many diverse venues, a regular invitee to The Adelaide Fringe Festival’s “The Kustom Kulture Weekend SA” over the last 9 years playing with the cream of Australian Pyschobilly, Rockabilly and Ska bands in that time. The Saucermen have shared the stage with great Australian acts like the Manic Pistoleros, Porkers, Complete Madness, Flatfoot Shakers, Jonno Zilber, Psycho Delmatics, Ska Vendors, Detonators, Zombie Ghost Train and the Bone Rattlers to name a few.

Devil’s Elbow (written by Chris Hayne) features in several compilation CDs such as Depth Charge, Cooper’s "Live and Local" and Presstone’s “It’s A Gas 2”

Band Members:

Chris Hayne (lead guitar) ex..The Skunks, Northern Drinking Cult, Killer Instinct.

Steve O’Malley (vocals) ex.. The Tomahawks

Hayden Milsteed (drums) Slingshot Dragster, Lubricated Goat, Asteroid Belt

Frank Macri (Double Bass) ex Finger Poppin Daddies, Killer Instinct, The Jamjets


2004 Valley of The Rattlin' Bones EP cd

2007 Gravy Train EP cd

2010 Dead Man's Hand cd

2011 Whip 7' Vinyl

2014 Valley of the Rattling Bones (remixed) cd

Web site

Reviews and rating

Rate this musician / band